Last modified: Mar 3, 2024

Lane Centering Assist / Autosteer

Lane Centering Assist (LCA) / Autosteer is a feature of some advanced driver assistance systems that allows a vehicle to automatically steer itself within a lane on a highway or freeway.

It is typically used in combination with other features, such as adaptive cruise control, to provide a more automated driving experience.

Autosteer works by using a combination of cameras, sensors, and other technologies to detect the position of the vehicle within the lane, as well as the position of other vehicles on the road. The system then uses this information to adjust the steering and keep the vehicle centered within the lane, maintaining a safe following distance from other vehicles ahead.

To use Autosteer, the driver typically needs to activate the system using a button or switch on the steering wheel or dashboard. The system may require the driver to keep their hands on the steering wheel at all times, and may periodically provide alerts or prompts to ensure the driver remains alert and engaged while the system is in use.

Many Autosteer or similar autonomous driving systems have time limits or other requirements for driver attention and engagement.

For example, Tesla’s Autopilot system requires drivers to keep their hands on the steering wheel and be prepared to take over control of the vehicle at any time. The system will periodically send alerts to remind the driver to keep their hands on the wheel and remain alert while Autosteer is engaged. If the driver does not respond to these alerts, Autosteer may be disabled and the vehicle will slow down and eventually come to a stop.

Other manufacturers may have similar requirements for driver attention and engagement, and may also include time limits or other restrictions on how long the autonomous driving features can be used continuously. It’s important for drivers to carefully read and understand the limitations and requirements of their specific vehicle’s autonomous driving system before using it on the road.

The levels of autonomous driving for autosteer systems are typical 2. Merces Benz Drive Pilot on EQS is the only currently approved level 3 system.

The below video shows how it works.

Manufacturers may use different names for their Autosteer systems, but some common names for these systems include:

  • ProPILOT Assist (Nissan)
  • Super Cruise (Cadillac)
  • Drive Pilot (Mercedes-Benz)
  • Adaptive Cruise Assist (Audi)
  • CoPilot360 (Ford)
  • Nio Pilot (NIO)
  • Autopilot (Tesla)

It’s important to note that the exact features and capabilities of each manufacturer’s Autosteer system may vary, and drivers should always consult their vehicle’s owner’s manual and familiarize themselves with the specific features and limitations of their system.

Most sold EVs globaly

Below, you find the top 10 most-sold EV models in the world. Click on the name for full info.